User Account Control

User Account Control (UAC) allows you to control your computer by prompting you when a program tries to make a change that requires administrative permissions. We can adjust the permission level of the user account. A standard user can only do the tasks that are allowed for him. For e.g. Reading emails, listening to music or creating documents. If he tries to uninstall a program than an UAC prompt will be displayed asking for administrative credentials. The UAC feature was introduced into Windows operating system to prevent any malicious software to get installed on your computer without your knowledge. There are four types of dialog boxes that appear:

1. A setting or feature that is part of Windows needs your permission to start:
This dialog appears with a multicolored protective shield with a valid digital signature which ensures that Microsoft is the publisher of this item. Generally, it is safe to run an application which displays the above message.
2. A program that is not part of windows needs your permission to start:
This dialog appears with a ‘Question Mark’ icon when a program has a valid digital signature and is the same program that it claims to appear. In this case you have to ensure if the publisher of the program is a trusted publisher.
3. A program with an unknown publisher needs your permission to start:
This dialog appears with an ‘Exclamation icon’ if a program does not have a valid digital signature. Such type of programs can cause potential threat to the computer. We need to double check such programs as there might be a spyware or malware attached to it.
4. You have been blocked by your system administrator from running this program:
This dialog appears with a ‘Red cross’ icon when an untrusted program tries to install itself on your computer. Windows has detected several untrusted programs that can cause potential threat to your computer. Hence, you are blocked from running this program.

UAC settings

1. Always notify:
If you keep this setting you will be notified before programs make changes to your computer or to windows settings that require the permissions of an administrator. You must either approve or deny the request in the UAC dialog box before you can do anything else on your computer. This type of UAC settings is the most secured setting. It is important to read the dialogs that appear before making any changes to the computer.
2. Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer:
Whenever a program tries to make changes to your computer that requires the permission of an administrator you will be notified. Also, if you try to make changes in the windows a setting that requires the permission of an administrator you will be notified. You will also be notified if a third party program tries to make changes in the windows setting.
3. Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer:
Whenever a program tries to make any changes to your computer that requires administrative permissions this dialog will be displayed. Also, if you try to make any changes to windows settings that requires the permission of an administrator. You will also be notified if a third party program tries to make changes in the windows settings.
4. Never Notify:
You will never be notified while making any changes to the computer. Even if you are logged in as an administrator, programs can make changes to your computer without your knowledge. If you are logged on as a standard user, any changes that require the permissions of an administrator will automatically be denied.